Notice of statewide recording fee changes due to legislative action
Effective October 17, 2019, statewide recording fees for most documents will increase by $6.00 due to the enactment of HB 166 state budget legislation. The new recording fee for the first two pages will be $34.00 (previously $28.00). Each additional page remains the same as current law at $8.00. Half of all recording fees collected are required to be submitted to the state to the credit of the Ohio Housing Trust Fund.
Sample Recording Fee Table Effective October 17, 2019
|Number of Pages||Recording Fee*|
|1 - 2 Pages||$34.00|
* $4.00 marginal fees and standardization guidelines still apply.
Additional Information: Ohio Revised Code 317.32 & 317.36
Juneteenth Holiday Closing
The Huron County Recorder's Office will be closed Monday, June 19, 2023 in honor of the Juneteenth Holiday. The office will re-open Tuesday, June 20, 2023 at 8:00 A.M.
The Huron County Recorder's Office now accepts the following document types for electronic recording. (eRecording)
Affidavit mortgage, agreement, finance statement, finance statement real estate, finance statement continuation, finance statement termination, lease assign of rents, mechanics lien, mechanics lien partial release, mechanics lien cancel, mortgage, mortgage amendment, mortgage assignment, mortgage assumption, mortgage partial release, discharge of mortgage, mortgage subordination, notice of commencement, power of attorney, and waiver of priority.
Norwalk, OH 44857
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
At this time we do not accept any documents involving transfer of real estate.